TICKET Info

Subscribe to our NEWSLETTER

St Michans Church

  • Founded 1095
  • Underground Vaults
  • Mummified Bodies
  • Historic Church Organ

Situated on Church Street behind Dublin’s Four Courts and near the old city fruit and vegetable markets, St Michan’s Church is the oldest parish church on the north side of the River Liffey.  Originally founded in 1095, the present church dates from 1685 and was renovated in 1825. Internally the church retains its original galleried interior and organ.

Beneath the church are the famous vaults containing the mummified remains of many of Dublin’s most influential 17th, 18th and 19th century families, including the legendary Sheares brothers and the highly decorated coffins of the Earl’s of Leitrim. Visitors can also see the famed alleged crusader, the thief and nun, and learn about the remarkable preservative qualities present in the vaults.

 

Related Entries
© Copyright - Temple Bar TradFest 2014 - Web Design/Development by Aoife @ Seek Design Smithwicks-logos_03